Red Bull Racing – Birth of a new F1 Champion


The 2010 Brazilian GP was by no means a thriller, yet it must be the most memorable day in the lives of the men and women who are part of the Milton-Keynes based Red Bull Racing team. After several hits and near misses, mistakes and misfortunes, Red Bull have finally clinched the World Constructors Championship – and are now properly one of the “big” teams that Ferrari and Mclaren have to respect. In my view, the seeds for this triumph were sown when Christian Horner brought the legendary Adrian Newey on board. The design genius has been responsible for several cars that have dominated championships and it was only a matter of time before he hit the sweet spot at Red Bull.

Inset : RB6 has been class of the field

This year’s RB6 has been a rocketship – consistently quick in every single circuit in the world – as Red Bull’s incredible qualifying achievements have shown this year. Considering the fact that the Renault engine doesn’t quite have the grunt or the reliability of the Ferrari or the Mercedes-Benz, and that the drivers have made several mistakes, one wonders what Red Bull could’ve achieved if they’d had Mercedes-Benz engines and a driver like, say, Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton or even Kimi Raikkonen. But fortunately for us, the strengths and weaknesses of these championship-contending teams have more or less evened out the playing field, giving us an extraordinary season with unprecedented action, excitement and unpredictability.

Image : The valiant Jaguar Racing team

At this point I think it would be interesting to reflect upon the circumstances that led to the birth of the Red Bull Racing team. Cut to the inaugural Chinese Grand Prix of 2004, when the erstwhile Jaguar Racing team announced that parent company Ford had pulled the plug on it, and the team was to be sold or closed down if no buyer were found. It was sad to see a name like Jaguar leave F1, but it was even sadder to think of the hard working men and women in Milton-Keynes, people no less talented or passionate or committed than the people in Mclaren or Ferrari, and yet, people who’ve never really enjoyed the success that they deserved. It is worth noting that, according a reveal by F1 Racing mangazine, although Toyota was acknowledged to be the biggest spender in F1, their total expenditure was about 3% of their global marketing budget. In comparison, Jaguar Racing got a mere 0.05% of Jaguar Cars’ annual expenditure – a pittance.

Inset : Technical Director Adrian Newey and Team Principal Christian Horner

Formula1 isn’t about bigger equalling better – money talks loud, but not it is not the loudest. Brawn GP proved that last year, a team on the ropes, struggling to survive, coming through purely on technical expertise and excellent management of resources along with brilliance in strategy. Yet money is vital – if it wasn’t for Honda’s investment in the ’09 car, we may not have witnessed one of the greatest fairytale success stories in motorsport. A solid budget enables the team to push the development process harder and faster, attract more talent to the team and crucially, hire drivers based on skill rather than sponsorship. Force India’s improvement in leaps and bounds is a case in point. Ford though, after wrecking Jag’s chances with budget-cuts,  also played musical chairs with Jaguar Racing’s management, leading to instability in both administration and design.

Inset : Red Bull Racing drivers Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel

Teams like Ferrari and Mclaren don’t rely on revolutionary designs or shuffling the management in order to get instant results. Nor is their considerable budget the sole reason for their success. Building a good car is very much a human thing – it is about having the right people in the right jobs, and making sure the team works as one cohesive unit in the same direction with clarity in thought and skill in exection. It is a long process, and poor results have to be endured and acted upon – passing on the blame and moving in a different direction can buy time, but not long term success. It’s a continous process and once the team reaches a level of competance and stability in terms of design, management and resources, the results are guaranteed. In 2004, Ford were at the beginning stage of the decline in profits that culminated in their recent bankruptcy. As such, it was a golden opportunity when the Chinese government was willing to enter into a partnership with Ford in order to take the Grand Prix team to new heights. Sadly, Ford’s bean counters chose to look at costs rather than profits, and concluded that selling Jaguar Racing would bring about an increase in share price – not caring about the fact that they were selling 40 years of motor racing heritage and history to please shareholders.

Image : Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitz

Today, as they limp along, recovering from their survival, Red Bull’s success will hit Ford hard – and hurt badly. Dietrich Mateschitz owns an energy drink corporation – not a prestigious automotive group – and yet, all he did was give his racing team a good manager (Christian Horner) and a respectable budget to go racing – something that doesn’t require four decades of motorsport experience to do – and the team has delivered.

Image : Red Bull celebrate winning the 2010 Constructors Championship

Tony Purnell, one of the heads of Jaguar Racing when it was sold, said in an interview that time : “I’m not concerned for my own future – I’ll be okay. But I’ve read about Jean Todt’s description of his Ferrari boys as a ‘dream team’ – and yes, I think they’ve achieved a hell of a lot. But our team are a dream team, too – and I’d love to see whether Jean’s lot could’ve achieved what we’ve achieved with our comparatively meagre resources. Believe me, the engineering management and know-how at Jaguar Racing are fantastic. And, for that reason, any buyer who can add the financial wherewithal to that, is onto a winner.”

Purnell’s faith in his boys has been vindicated in style. Hats off to the Red Bull Racing team.

39 Responses to “Red Bull Racing – Birth of a new F1 Champion”

  1. What i find difficult is to find a blog that can capture me for a minute but your posts are not alike. Keep it like this.

  2. You can definitely see your enthusiasm within the work you write….

    The world hopes for much more passionate writers like you who aren?ˉt scared to say how they believe. Always go best after your heart….

  3. I have to admit that i sometimes get bored to read the whole thing but i honestly enjoyed what i read. Bravo !

  4. Very well written post. It will be supportive to anybody who usess it, as well as me. Keep up the good work – looking forward to more posts.

  5. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. I just seen this blog couple of weeks ago when a family member recommended it to me. I have been a daily reader from the time.

  7. Commercial Diving Says:

    Hey, have you got RSS on your blog? I can’t see the link.

  8. 2. Outstanding post once again. Thanks:)

  9. 1. First-classstory it is actually. We’ve been seeking for this update.

  10. this is a greatly interesting send, tender thanks you on the information. Wretched my english is not the sheer best. do you know if it is imaginable to turn this to the spanish language. that would be damned helpfull.

  11. Hi I was trying to find some informative information about careers advice as I am due to graduate soon. I really enjoyed Your webpage and will come back again soon.

  12. I want to personally thank you for posting this post. I had been searching to find information about this applicable topic. Indianapolis SEO

  13. 2. Great story over again. Thank you!

  14. Brilliant, thanks, I will bookmark you soon!

  15. It’s really weird, Having been just talking with my friend earlier this week about this and next thing I know is I find your blog and read more in to the topic. I’ve referred your web page to my friend making sure that he too can share in the knowledge that you have taken some time to have given out. Appreciation for taking a few minutes to put this webpage up on the internet.

  16. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  17. Hi there I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  18. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and terrific design and style.

  19. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  20. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  21. I have subscribed to your rss feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  22. I do like the way you have presented this specific problem and it really does supply me a lot of fodder for consideration. On the other hand, through what precisely I have observed, I simply wish as other feedback stack on that folks keep on point and don’t embark upon a soap box involving the news of the day. Still, thank you for this fantastic piece and whilst I do not necessarily go along with it in totality, I value your point of view.

  23. Great summary, bookmarked your blog with hopes to read more!

  24. Thank you for you post, i will keep visiting this blog very often. I have just got interested in blogging and hopefully i am able to do so

  25. The informative post helped me a lot! Bookmarked the website, very great topics everywhere that I read here! I really appreciate the information, thank you.

  26. Great write up, saved your website with hopes to see more!

  27. I have to say that I slightly disagree, but no biggie.

  28. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  29. Sometimes when I am bored I open a website randomly. It can be a good blog, but it can be a very bad blog. I found yours. It rocks! Thank you for posting some very informative words here. You make a great job!

  30. Sometimes when I am bored I open a website randomly. It can be a good blog, but it can be a very bad blog. I found yours. It rocks! Thank you for posting some very informative words here. You make a great job!

  31. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  32. Congratulations guys! By the way, good thing is that the championship went through despite hitches. It was successful.

  33. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossip and net stuff and this is actually frustrating. A good website with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this web-site, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Cant find it.

  34. Your website is amazingly amazing.

  35. Hello!….I have been gone for some time- I have been busy building a classic car insurance project but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thank you, I will try my best to take some time out from classic car insurance & visit back more often. How frequently do you update this web site?

Leave a Reply

