2011 Malaysian GP – Race Results

Sebastian Vettel won his second race in a row this year in a fully dry Malaysian GP, ahead of Jenson Button in his McLaren and the extremely impressive Nick Heidfeld in his Renault. Mark Webber recovered from a poor start to fourth at the end of the race, while the Ferraris could muster only 5th and 6th places. Hamilton finished seventh, but was penalised for weaving in front of Alonso and dropped down to eighth behind the plucky Sauber driver Kobayashi.

Mercedes drivers Schumacher and Rosberg endured another wretched Grand Prix as they struggled their way to 9th and 12th respectively. Paul di Resta was impressive once again, scoring a point in 10th, ahead of his team mate Sutil. Williams and HRT recorded double DNFs, and Jarno Trulli, Sergio Perez and Jerome d’Ambrosio joined the retirements list. Vitaly Petrov was classified 17th, although he retired with four laps to go with a broken steering column, after a wild jump over a kerb ended his race.

It was a fantastic race to watch, and probably one of the most entertaining GPs in recent memory. Despite the thunderstorm blowing away from the circuit, Pirelli’s tyre degradation, DRS and KERS more than made up for it with great overtaking throughout the race.

Full analysis to follow shortly. Here are the final results :


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: